Reviews



Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Amazing Location surrounded by nature and history. Very friendly hosts, delicious breakfast, very nice and clean room.We really enjoyed our stay.Julia and Philipp

Reviewer:Julia S | Tue 13th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Great place and very friendly owners - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay on your walking adventure.Very friendly owners and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Olaf van den E | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location, tasty breakfast, gracious hosts.A wonderful visit!

Reviewer:M. Claire G | Tue 7th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Thomas - Rating 5/5

A lovely guesthouse in a fabulous spot. Walking onto Hadrian's wall was easy from here. The accommodation is comfortable and warm and the hospitality is excellent. Pub in walking distance serves good meals. Thank you

Reviewer:Don T | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place - helpful and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 nights while walking the Pennine Wat. Alan picked us up from a spot on the walk and took us back next morning, then to the station next day. Great breakfast and cosy lounge.

Reviewer:Val J | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a wonderful stay near Hadrian's wall. You have the perfect spot to start exploring the best preserved portion of the wall.Eddy

Reviewer:Eddy B | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Pennine Way hikers - Rating 5/5

It was fine. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Very clean. It is quite difficult to find although they do send you directions.

Reviewer:william s | Sat 18th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Pennine Way Hikers - Rating 5/5

It was fine. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Very clean. It is quite difficult to find although they do send you directions.

Reviewer:william s | Sat 18th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Walking Hadrian’s Wall - Rating 3/5

A beautiful, tranquil setting, under Thirlwall castle. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly,breakfast was delicious.We had the twin room which was lovely, the beds were uncomfortable though, hence the 3 stars rather than 5.

Reviewer:Diana B | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in comfortable, clean and tranquil setting at Holmhead B and B. We were served a delicious breakfast every morning and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend for sight seeing on Hadrian's wall and ideal for walkers too.

Reviewer:Elaine N | Wed 25th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautiful, Comfortable, Close to Historic Sites- Rating 5/5

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, walking the Pennine Way. Judy and Alan are great hosts, and a very sweet and considerate couple.....and the food was top notch.

Reviewer:Andrea O | Sun 17th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautiful B&b, great welcome and hospitality- Rating 5/5

I can’t recommend this B&b highly enough. Hosts are so kind they even offered to drive my husband to the he station. The B&b is very comfortable, short walk to pub and beautifully decorated, and if it doesn’t get better than that it is straight onto the Pennine Way in the morning.

Reviewer:Chris C | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Country welcome - Rating 4/5

It is so good to be made welcome after a tough, windy and cold day walking along Hadrian’s Wall.

Reviewer:Hugo Z | Fri 27th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay, thank you! - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome, nice rooms, really helpful hosts (phoned local pub for us to arrange dinner), and fantastic breakfast.A full gluten-free breakfast was provided for our children - wonderful!

Reviewer:Katharine W | Wed 11th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Warm and cozy - Rating 5/5

We have enjoyed several inns during our travels through England.Holmhead was comfy and peaceful and reasonably priced.But what made it special was Judy and Alan, the hosts.While attending to our needs, they let us be to enjoy the region and suggested spots to visit when we asked.Our tastes seemed to line up nicely -- I would love to return though this is unlikely (we are from Massachusetts USA).This is just one of those preciousmoments on a glorious journey called life.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert D | Fri 15th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Pennine Way stay - Rating 5/5

Holmhead is in a lovely location. The room was comfortable and breakfast a very good start to a day walking. The hosts went out of their way to be helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith L | Wed 6th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect holiday, perfect cottage. - Rating 5/5

Stayed in the Cottage for our holiday. Absolutely lovely cottage and in a great location for all the Hadrians Wall sites (that and your actually staying on the wall!! Can't get much better than that!!). Judy and Alan are fantastic owners always checking that we were okay, we had an 8 month old with us and they had the travel cot ready for us and lots of spare blankets for him, really lovely people. Views from Holmhead are amazing. Amazing place and will come back again to explore more once our little boy is older.

Reviewer:Leanne I | Wed 6th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


A stunning setting - Rating 1/5

A stunning setting - wake up to the beautiful Northumberland countryside right next to Hadrian's Wall. Cosy comfortable rooms and a superb breakfast including vegetarian choices.The bunk house is also very well equipped and extremely good value!

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicole C | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


A great place to stay - really near Hadrian\'s Wall. - Rating 5/5

Once we found the correct location, we liked where it is located. Friendly staff, good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Larry B | Thu 10th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Terrific Bed and Breakfast! - Rating 5/5

A friend and I stayed at Holmhead Guest House for 1 night for a walk along Hadrian's Wall.The House is quiet and remote (on a private road away from traffic).The owners (Alan and his wife Judy) could not have been more welcoming and helpful.Alan even picked us up from the train station upon our arrival!Judy cooked us a terrific english breakfast and packed us a lunch for our 10 mile walk the next day.The Hadrian's Wall walking trail goes past their back fence, so it is in a great location for walkers of the wall.I highly recommend a stay here!

Reviewer:John B | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Just right on the pennine way - Rating 4/5

Very clean tidy accomodation, the sitting room/breakfast room was delightful. The twun room was slightly cramped and the beds a tad on the narrow side, but everything else was top class. The proprietor is a very nice lady who provided an extra early breakfast so we could get an early start

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances S | Mon 10th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Secret hideaway on Hadrian\'s Wall - Rating 5/5

Amazing location, full of character, tucked away yet within an easy walk of an excellent pub/hotel for evening meals.Very helpful hosts, excellent breakfast, comfortable beds and room. Access by exterior steps might be awkward for less mobile and ensuite bathroom a bit cramped, though didn't bother us. Fabulous view from bedroom window.

Reviewer:Mrs. RosalindT | Tue 27th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Hop head guest house - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, comfortable rooms,tasty breakfast,Beautiful location.

Reviewer:F. M | Fri 23rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Well Run and Comfortable Accommodation - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at Holmhead;friendly service and well thought-out accommodation of a good standard. Perfect location when walking the Pennine way - a charming building in a beautiful, quiet setting. A short walk to the local pub for dinner and a drink. Definitely recommend staying here. If I may suggest- some lighter weight bedding for warm summer nights would be appreciated.

Reviewer:Mrs. sandra c | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


home from home - Rating 5/5

My friends and I had a lovely stay while doing The Pennine Way,we were very comfortable and very well looked after,great to have our own lounge to relax in after a hard days walking!

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane S | Sun 11th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay and impeccable hospitality- Rating 5/5

Judy and Alan are quintessential hosts. The locations was ideal given its proximity to Hadrian's wall and the castle ruins. Quotidian essentials like an English Breakfast were outstanding. They are kind and generous hosts befitting the English ideal. When we return, we'll be staying at Holmhead.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian S | Wed 7th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


perfect stop along the wall - Rating 5/5

Perfectly clean, welcoming, and with a lovely sitting room lined with books. Couldn't ask for better hospitality and the location is Amazing!!

Reviewer:Ms. M Lauren L | Wed 31st May 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent in every way - Rating 5/5

After a long days walking it was good to recuperate in such a marvellous establishment. I cannot find anything to criticise, accommodation and hosts were brilliant.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Alan R | Fri 26th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Pennine Way - Rating 5/5

A gorgeous B&B bang on the PW -we had a lovely room overlooking the fields with a huge bed. Very comfortable.We had a warm welcome and breakfast was great too.We would highly recommend this B&B to others.

Reviewer:Miss. Anna K | Fri 19th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Awesome place - Rating 5/5

Very nice accommodations, dinner at the suggested Greenhead pub was excellent, and the window view of Thirlwall Castle ruins for our breakfast was a most fitting way to end our holiday.We will certainly book there again and are recommending it to friends.Follow the host's driving instructions they e-mail you, not Google or Apple map apps.Otherwise be prepared to feel foolish when the road ends below the castle and you see the back side of the guesthouse from the wrong side of the river.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan W | Wed 3rd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Ruby Wedding ! - Rating 5/5

Up from Kent to celebrate my brother's Ruby Wedding anniversary, (And, coincidentally, that of his wife too !!).Thank you so very much Judy and Alan for making us so welcome and comfortable for our two nights with you.What a wonderful location, what friendly hosts, what a fabulous breakfast, unhurried and with views of Thirlwall Castle to enjoy. And, the muffins. Well !.....If this is how I'm going to spend my retirement then roll on September when I break free !!!ps Judy and Alan - all the very best for the Wedding !

Reviewer:Mr. Graham M | Thu 6th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful stay in a history-filled area! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Judy &Alan's home! The setting of their home is beautiful. There are castle ruins in the backyard and peaceful sheep in the front. We took a short, easy walk to a nearby restaurant for dinner. After a restful sleep, we enjoyed a delicious, fresh-cooked breakfast. The area is filled with historic sites related to Hadrian's Wall. Holmhead House actually sits on the Wall's foundations!

Reviewer:Mr. Steven C | Fri 30th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Walkers Paradise - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable place to stay. Owners lovely and friendly. Happy to accommodate. Booked a table for us at the local pub for evening meal

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel M | Wed 28th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Thanks - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed the stay with a colleague. Peaceful surroundings, warm welcome.Helpful people. Would like to be back.

Reviewer:Ms. hanne p | Sat 24th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Very friendly and homely - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne R | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


One of the best - Rating 5/5

Whilst walking the Pennine Way we stayed at numerous B&B's and were very impressed not only by the fantastic position of Holmhead but the excellent service provided by the hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of there way to oblige, offering advice on the local area and the walk. Thank you and well done keep up the good work.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen H | Tue 13th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Idyllic retreat - Rating 5/5

Excellent historical location right on Hadrian's Wall path and overlooked by castle ruins, the home is beautifully situated and perfect for walkers. Breakfast was fantastic and the hosts offered a ride to the nearest restaurant for supper as well as a ride to the nearby train station. All in all a wonderful experience I'm a nicely appointed home.

Reviewer:Dr. Edward H | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


excellent location - Rating 5/5

Located on hadrians wall walk. A quarter of mile from pub. Comfy bed great breakfast.

Reviewer:Miss. karen s | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


excellent location - Rating 5/5

Located on hadrians wall walk. A quarter of mile from pub. Comfy bed great breakfast.

Reviewer:Miss. karen s | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Simply Superb - Rating 5/5

An absolutely wonderful place to finish a long day of hiking on Hadrian's Wall.Warm and welcoming hosts, an inviting and comfortable guesthouse right along Hadrian's Wall path, and easy access to both the village of Greenhead and Thirlwall Castle, Holmhead is the perfect spot to overnight along the trail.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike G | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Our group of four had a really enjoyable stay at the Holmhead Guest House (HGH). Judy and Alan were excellent hosts and really made us feel welcome. We highly recommend HGH and we'll certainly visit again if in the area. Thank you!

Reviewer:Rachel T | Sun 17th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


lovely lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Just and Allan are very friendly and hospitable - willing to provide advice on walks and offer lifts. Wonderful location. The breakfast was lovely - beautiful fresh summer fruit salad every day followed by full English breakfast from locally sourced ingredients and cooked to order.

Reviewer:Rachel T | Sun 17th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect for walkers - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely two days stay while we walked the Pennine Way, comfy beds, super showers and a great breakfast!

Reviewer:Joan G | Fri 15th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Beautiful setting- Rating 5/5

This is a lovely place in a beautiful setting.Comfortable room, excellent location, great breakfast and friendly hosts. What more could you ask?

Reviewer:Mr. Michael C | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed at Holmhead for a night whilst running the wall. It was cosy, clean, well equipped and tranquil. The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we would recommend Holmhead to anyone passing through. The freshly baked muffins on arrival were an absolute treat!

Reviewer:Miss. Anna R | Thu 23rd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable Visit - Rating 5/5

Nicely appointed rooms, comfortable lounge, delicious and full breakfast, beautiful grounds.Alan very kindly picked up by group at the railway station and got us well-settled in.Both Alan &Judy are wonderful, very personable hosts.Our 1-night stay was very enjoyable.

Reviewer:Jonathan C | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Hadrian\'s Wall - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay in Holmhead Guest house and look forward to returning some day.The hosts were most hospitable.

Reviewer:Mr. John M | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Pennine Way walkers - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with all aspects of this stop-over:silent surroundings, well appointed rooms withcomfortable beds and en suite shower and WC, good wholesome breakfast and a welcoming host. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. John R | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely weekend. Thank you!- Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights, walked sections of Hadrian's wall and explored the area. Our room was comfortable and we were well looked after at Holmhead. The location is perfect for wall/pennine walkers, and the warm welcome made us feel at home at Holmhead.

Reviewer:Lindsay Findlay & Tracy H | Wed 1st Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I came with my two adult sons so we took two rooms. They were both comfortable with small but clean bathrooms in each. The best thing was the excellent breakfast made from fresh local produce and the warm welcome from our hosts.

Reviewer:Ms. Harriet C | Wed 23rd Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Holmhead Guest House - Rating 5/5

Great location, right on the Hadrian's Wall path.Genial and welcoming hosts.Good value.What more can anyone ask for?If we come back to the area, we'll be staying here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul L | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Short break Hadrian\'s Wall- Rating 5/5

Ideal location for visits to scenic parts of the wall. Beautiful setting, quiet,comfortable and clean.Brilliant breakfast, charming and helpful hosts.

Reviewer:Geoffrey T | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Holmhead GH Review - Rating 4/5

Nice room. Good breakfast. Helpful owners.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeff G | Sun 23rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

We arrived late after a long walk and had a warm welcome, they are directly on the Hadrians Walk path.Room was fine, good value with breakfast very nice with lots of variety.The local pub is 10mins walk and was great for the evening.

Reviewer:Mr. owen m | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely Location - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this excellent B&B. We arrived tired after a long walk but quickly felt at home. We had a lovely greeting from the owner. We were directed to a good pub for a meal which was within easy walking distance. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemarie K | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent stay at Holmhead Guest House - Rating 5/5

Friendly and warm welcome to this lovely guesthouse. Our room was very comfortable, quite big and very clean. Delightful view from window.Pub for evening meal is a pretty short walk away. Wonderful generous breakfast beautifully served. We felt very rested to continue the Pennine Way, Thank you to owners.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol A | Tue 7th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Good base for Hadrian\'s Wall visit- Rating 4/5

A comfy, friendly B&B in a central position and right on the Wall too.Great bed, big breakfast so all you need in a very good B&B

Reviewer:Jan T | Sat 27th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


One of the nicest places I have stayed at - Rating 5/5

You are made feel welcome and comfortable from when you get there. Both the room and the bathroom are clean and bright. Breakfast is delicious!Staying there is a delight!

Reviewer:Verena B | Fri 26th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Walk the Wall - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful place to stay. This B and B ticks all the boxes and the hosts Judy and Alan make you feel really welcome. The location is just perfect for the walkers or anyone who just what a quiet location with excellent facilities. Well recommended.

Reviewer:Mike F | Sat 20th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


The Week to the Wall! - Rating 5/5

The whole area of Hadrian's Wall is fabulous, and offers so much to do.Holmhead Guest House was the icing on the cake.The situation is idyllic, at the end of a lush and quiet valley with a castle as a backdrop.The Wall Walk goes right past the garden gate, allowing you to explore the Wall in two directions without getting in the car.It is a great overnight location if you are walking the Wall.We stayed in the cottage, which was cosy and well appointed, with everything you need.It has its own section of garden allowing you to sit out in seclusion, if you want.We received a warm welcome, including muffins!And for a pad literally on Hadrian's Wall the price was reasonable.

Reviewer:Anna S | Sun 31st May 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Good value for money and a very comfortable place with very welcoming owners. Nothing was too much trouble

Reviewer:Mrs. Melinda P | Sat 30th May 2015 | 4 years ago


A walker\'s paradise - Rating 5/5

After walking 17 miles from Alston (along the South Tyne Trail rather than the official Pennine Way) it was a delight to find such a hospitable and comfortable place to spend the night!I was met with the offer of muffins and a drink, but as I'd just had tea at the cafe down in Greenhead I declined (much to my later chagrin). The place is beautifully kept and I had the best night's sleep on the whole PW. The owners are wonderful too!Many thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Peter H | Fri 29th May 2015 | 4 years ago


A very warm welcome! - Rating 5/5

There was very lovely welcome for my son and I as we arrived having completed the Hadrians Wall Trail. The room was comfortable and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful. The local pub for supper is only 5mins away and is also very friendly. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue C | Fri 10th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely location, comfortable room and tasty breakfast. - Rating 5/5

Ideally sited on the Pennine Way and Hadrian's Wall with just a 10 minute walk to the village pub for evening meals and good beer. The rooms are comfortable, a good freshly cooked breakfast is provided and there was also fruit, yoghurts and quality preserves available. There is a separate sitting room for guests and the guest areas are effectively separate from the private residential part of the property so. This was my second visit, this time with my wife who also enjoyed Holmhead. Owners very friendly but not intrusive - just got the balance right. Ideal base for walking in Northumberland &Cumbria.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve O | Fri 10th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Hadrian\'s wall view - Rating 4/5

Excellent proximity to Hadrian's wall and Roman museum. Hosts were very helpful with directions about local sights and B&B was warm and comfortable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie F | Sat 4th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Homely Holmhead - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my brief stay as part of my Pennine Way trek. Offer of tea and muffins of arrival (always a good start). Comfortable bed, good sleep (very quiet) excellent breakfast with perfect crispybacon. Lovely location and friendly hosts. 10 minutes walk from Greenhead Hotel with good real ale and food. I shall return with the missus next time.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve O | Wed 3rd Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


B&B - Rating 4/5

Super location, superb breakfasts - but would like a TV in the room itself!

Reviewer:Mrs. Brenda D | Sat 9th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Beautiful surroundings, Good bed, excellent breakfast, nice owners.Try walking up the hill behind the B&B and enjoy the view!

Reviewer:Mr. Ernst B | Fri 8th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Ideal B&B location right on Hadrian's Wall and the Pennine Way. Comfy room, good breakfast with good variety of options (eg fresh fruit salad), short walk to the centre of Greenhead, nice sitting room with TV and board games, friendly hosts and a welcoming muffin!

Reviewer:Mr. Duncan B | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

I loved Holmhead.It's the perfect place to stay for exploring the wall. The owners are such nice people and so helpful, and the place itself is amazing with the ruins of Thirlwall Castle right above it.Rooms comfortable and quiet;breakfast great.I would love to come again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jeanie F | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Haven on Hadrian's Wall - Rating 5/5

After five days of walking the Hadrian's Wall Path, we could not have asked for more. A beautiful farm home with lovely amenities, we were so charmed by the Holmhead we decided to linger for an extra day. The Thirwall castle ruins, the Roman army museum, and the nearby village of Greenhead, provided a sampling of everything that drew us to Northumberland, while the Holmhead provided respite, a delicious breakfast, and the company of our very gracious hosts.

Reviewer:Tyrel S | Sat 12th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


roger - Rating 4/5

excellent centre for visiting the wall.nice comfortable room with a good view.very good breakfast and made very welcomeby lovely and helpful hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger K | Thu 10th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great location with warm friendly hosts. Excellent breakfast and great pub meals nearby

Reviewer:Ms. Lea P | Mon 23rd Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Welcome Stay - Rating 5/5

After a long hard day's walk it was a welcome sight to see our night's accommodation right on the wall.We were wet and dirty but this did not deter our hosts who welcomed us warmly and even provided us with freshly baked muffins.Breakfast next morning was one of the best we had eaten with the fresh fruit salad a definite treat.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda W | Thu 12th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Great place, lovely people! - Rating 5/5

my son and I stayed one night when on the Pennine Way. we couldn't have asked for anything better. judy and Alan were very welcoming and even ranus to the stationin the morning. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent, but the best thing was the location. Absolutely stunning! thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh St J | Mon 2nd Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


A good place to stay - Rating 4/5

A great place to stay if you are walking Hadrian's Wall as it literally sits on the foundations of the Wall itself.The owners were very friendly and welcoming, the breakfast was tasty and the room was perfect for my needs, although I did find the ensuite a little too small.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. David N | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


My Sanctuary! - Rating 5/5

When the world is crazy and you need peace of mind - head for Holmhead, it's so peaceful (apart from a rare passing freight train) You will be made so welcome by Judy and Alan - you will sleep soundly and wake to the most wonderful fresh fruit salad and full English breakfast.This is my 3rd visit and I can't wait to go back again! I have visited with my husband and son before, but this time I traveled alone, but never felt lonely.There is lots to do in the area come rain or shine and a gentle evening stroll to the local Pub at Greenhead is the perfect way to wind down.Thank you again for another wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Liz H | Tue 27th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Holmhead - Rating 4/5

I stayed at Holmhead 23/05/2014 and it has to be said it is one of the better places to stay especially as it is situated on the route of Hadrians Wall. The welcome is as good as the food, and is a place I would stop again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian C | Mon 26th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Amazeballs! - Rating 5/5

Arrived here after a tiring week mountaineering in Scotland and was treated to a very well presented bedroom, comfy bed, hot shower and a great night's sleep.Owners were super friendly and provided us with a very nice breakfast, their local knowledge and willingness to impart advice meant we could go on to make the best use of our day walking the Roman wall.All in all a superb B&B and one we would most definitely recommend!

Reviewer:Miss. Emily B | Fri 16th May 2014 | 5 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Could not of picked a better place to stay for our first Hadrian's Wall trip. What a great location, the wall trail right on the door step, fantastic hosts and breakfast and great accommodation. I would not hesitate to recommend anyone visiting the area to book here.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin H | Mon 12th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Fabulous Spot! - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location, friendly hosts, great food, rooms clean and fresh - "it doesn't get much better than this".Our stay was both relaxing and inspiring!

Reviewer:Mr. Steven P | Mon 5th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Right on! For the Wall - Rating 4/5

Walking the wall and at any time a great place to stay. Brilliantly friendly and warm and cosy. Only a hop skip and jump (or hobble in our case) to the pub. We'd come back anytime!

Reviewer:Mr. Chris S | Sat 19th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Holmhead - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely B+B with very friendly hosts who made us very welcome.It is situated in the heart ofHadrian's Wall country and so much was near at hand-great walking and hiking.The local hotel recommended by Judy and Alan served great home-cooked food .It was also friendly and welcoming.Altogether very highly recommended by us both

Reviewer:Mrs. Rose Mary M | Mon 31st Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Perfect place - Rating 5/5

10/10. Holmhead was incredible, best place to stay. Lovely, peaceful, fantastic hosts, we will be booking there again soon.

Reviewer:Miss. Jamie-lee V | Sat 11th Jan 2014 | 5 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your hospitality, you made us very welcome.

Reviewer:Mrs. B. Lynn Dawson| Mon 26th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Lovey Retreat - Rating 4/5

While we were only there for one night and got there rather late, the place is lovely, and very comfortable.Be sure to follow the directions to arrive safely, but once there, the rooms are spacious and you'll get a great night's sleep.Breakfast is fantastic and they are close to many fun things to see at Hadrian's Wall.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan A | Thu 15th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Perfect to recharge the batteries! - Rating 5/5

We had a great stop over here for one night on the Pennine Way. The room was excellent with some very comfy beds. The hosts were both extremely pleasant and did everything they could to help us enjoy our stay. Thank You

Reviewer:Mr. Steve F | Mon 5th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Homecoming place - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our visit here on Hadrians Wall.. Fine place, nice people and an outstanding lovable setting near one of the Worlds finest monuments... We loved it!

Reviewer:Mr. Michiel M | Wed 24th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Highest recommendation! - Rating 5/5

Just a lovely experience. In our two nights stay at Holmhead, Judy and Alan made us feel like family, and it was difficult to leave. Crossing the small bridge and driving down the quiet lane past sheep has the effect of calming nerves after hours spent on the motorway, and then to enter their beautiful home is further tonic. Clean, quiet, with well-stocked bookshelves, the temptation is to pull up a chair, but gorgeous scenery is just outside the door. Definitely one of the most enjoyable stops of our trip.

Reviewer:Ms. Margaret R | Tue 23rd Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


An Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

The location is prefect, the hosts are perfect, the breakfasts are delicious, the setting is quiet and restful and the cost is very competetive.Located literally on Hadrian's Wall, it is the perfect loaction to visit the wall especially if you are on a tight budget.Holmhead is also with walking distance of a lovely tea shop and an oustanding pub and restaurant at Greenhead Hotel. Judy and Alan go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.Judy, in fact, kindly offered to wash some of our laundry for us.We hope that we have the opportunity to stay with them, again, soon.

Reviewer:Chris S | Sun 21st Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Lovely location with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.Comfy rooms plus spacious residents' lounge. Delicious breakfast. Oasis for weary walkers.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean T | Fri 19th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


The Pennine Way - Rating 4/5

It was a perfect stay for us two hiking the Pennine Way - bang on the trail. A good breakfast and nice host - overall a really nice stay.

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Holmhead Jenny, it was lovely to meet you.

Reviewer:Ms. Jenny J | Thu 11th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Timeless Bridge - Rating 5/5

There is no way to improve this place/experience:great location;informed hosts;wonderful inn nearby for meals.

Response

Thank you Sherry, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Ms. Sherry D | Fri 5th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Beautiful place with wonderful owners - Rating 5/5

Judy and Alan Clark have a gorgeous guest house that is hidden off the main road. It is right on Hadrian’s Wall and in front of Thirlwall Castle. The room was wonderful and the bed comfortable. Judy and Alan made a delicious English breakfast for me the next morning. In addition to the wonderful boarding and food, Judy and Alan helped me to make plans for travelling down Hadrian’s Wall to make sure I saw as much as possible in the little time I had. They also assisted me in making sure I had directions to my next lodging in Nottingham. They were extremely kind and so helpful!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments Jody, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Holmhead.It was a pleasure to meet you and help you with your plans.

Reviewer:Ms. Jody F | Sun 30th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Holmhead Guesthouse for two nights in May while exploring the Hadrian's wall area. Judy and Alan go out of there way to make you comfortable. Room was clean and bright and breakfast was excellent. It was a very convenient place to use as a base for visiting the Hadrian Wall sites. Exploring the ruins of Thurlwall Castle located a very short walk away was a real bonus. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to others.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments Walter, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Holmhead - it was a pleasure to meet you.

Reviewer:Mr. Walter T | Sun 30th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


On the Wall - Rating 5/5

Quiet Place with excellent service just next the Hadrian Wall Path. Lovely views among sheep and cattles.

Response

It was lovely to meet you Ann - we are so pleased you enjoyed your few days here at Holmhead.

Reviewer:Ms. Ann A | Tue 25th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Holmhead Guest House is located in a beautiful area of Northumberland and the welcome made to us by Judy and Alan was very much appreciated after our long walk.

Response

It was good to meet you Mark, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Holmhead.

Reviewer:Mark E | Mon 24th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Hadrian's Wall Walking Gem - Rating 4/5

Judy &Alan made us very welcome in their home at Holmhead and went the extra mile to make our stay a very pleasant experience. We was walking The Hadrian's Wall Walk and Holmhead is right on the Wall itself. It was my second visit and I will return again. The location is great and The Greenhead Hotel and the Tea Rooms opposite for food made for a very pleasant stay. Thank You Liz especially for the Choc Ice. Shaun

Response

It was good to see you again Shaun, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun P | Sat 15th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Very good accomodation,warm and friendly welcome and great breakfast.Very well situated for walkers and to see Hadrian's Wall

Response

Thank you for your kind comments Francoise, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Holmhead.

Reviewer:Miss. Françoise C | Sun 9th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


A great find - Rating 5/5

A marvellous house with lots of history and such friendly hosts.I would recommend it to anyone.The freshly baked tarts when we arrived was such a nice touch.

Response

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation Sheila, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheila B | Wed 22nd May 2013 | 6 years ago


An enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our one night stay at Holmhead.Firstly, a lovely welcome, then a delicious home-baked muffin!Comfortable bed and lovely view from the window.Everything spotlessly clean.1st Class breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your feedback Euan, we are so glad you enjoyed your brief stay at Holmhead.

Reviewer:Mr. Euan F | Mon 13th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Beautiful Setting - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome at this lovely B&B with a view of Thirlwall Castle and the Pennines. The rooms were comfortable and we had a lovely lounge to relax in. The breakfast was delicious, a lovely fresh fruit salad, cereals and yogurt to start us off, then a delicious English Breakfast with lovely locally sourced sausages. Judy and Alan could not have been more helpful.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments Andy and Carol, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Andy and Carol B | Thu 9th May 2013 | 6 years ago


very friendly. - Rating 5/5

We would recommend Holmhead Guest House. The proprietors are extremely friendly and helpful. The accomodation is lovely, great attention to detail. Breakfast was delicious and plenty.

Response

Thank you for your comments Beatrice, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Holmhead.

Reviewer:Beatrice R | Wed 8th May 2013 | 6 years ago